Font: A A A A

Beth Levine and Herbert Levine

Beth LevineFootwear Beth and Herbert Levine 
Beth Levine was born in New York in 1914. She concerned with the journalism and advertisement previously, than beginning to work the model in shoe company Palter-Deliso, which shocked the public at the end 30-h, selling feminine loafers with opened anklets. 

In 40-e she worked in companies I.Miller at one time with David Evins. Beth always dreamed to devote the design a footwear, and after two years after she left married for businessman and designer footwear Herbert Levine in 1944, they have opened its own shoe company. Herbert more to have charge of commercial line of business, but Beth was a creative engine, think over the most bold, occasionly even mad models. 

In 50-h she created "unencountered" sandal from graceful wavy bands a plastic arts. One more its bold design was a model with heel from kid skin, which powerfully reminded the spool of the silver threads. In 1958 shop windows of the jewelry shop Tiffany in New York decorated the jewels and the shoes from Beth Levine, decorate designers feather. 

Amongst client, which regularly peeked in its cool on Manhattan, were such "pioneers of" mode as Halston and Babe Paley, Bette Davis and Barbra Streisand.. When Liza Minnelli was necessary the pair non-traditionals wedding shoe, she has gained the pair embroidered spangle pump from Beth Levine. Exactly about boot of the mark Levine sang Nensi Sinatra in its canto "These boots are made for walking". 

Beth Levine had no formal formation, but however was able to call to cooperation known master, who manually sliced the shoetrees and splendid combined so loved her exotic skins. She possessed the amazing ability to predict to trends, the first created the lay out strass of the pump, loafers-hose and vinyl boots стрейч as far back as begin 50-h, nearly on integer ten years earlier, than the whole rest world has turned attention on them. 

Beth & Herbert Levine constantly experimented with new material, ultrashammy, artificial herb "astropeat", skin of the frog and others. She created the footwear without top, which "fastened" to leg of the woman special flypaper. Levine have even removed the film, in which woman danced in such loafer without top. That their invention really worked, these loafers as well as have not been able to gain confidence buyers. 

In 1964, she invent aerodynamic become bolder model footwear on name "Kabuki", which created the illusion of the flight, giving woman sensation walking on air. The openness to stiletto prist-art has brought Levine to creation shoe in the manner of sports car or lamps Aladdin. The hereinafter Beth created the own mark - "Beth's Bootery", which though and was not such innovative in design, was intended for youth and has been able to save fashion even after 30 years. 

In 1967 Beth and Herbert Levine have got the award "Coty Award" for creation boot стрейч, but later they was awarded the bonuses Neiman Marcus award for contribution to development of the branches. Beth has left from business in 1976, and though companies anymore exists, their footwear still renders the significant influence upon modern shoe design, but many models become subject of searching for collector.

Шрифт: A A A A

Бет и Херберт Ливайн (Beth & Herbert Levine)

Бет Герберт ЛивайнОбувь Бет и Герберта Ливайн
Бет Ливайн родилась в Нью-Йорке в 1914 году. Она занималась журналистикой и рекламой прежде, чем начала работать моделью в обувной компании Palter-Deliso, которая потрясла публику в конце 30-х, продавая женские туфли с открытым носочком. В 40-е она работала в компании I.Miller в одно время с Дэвидом Эвинсом. 

Бет всегда мечтала посвятить себя дизайну обуви, и спустя два года после того, как она вышла замуж за бизнесмена и дизайнера обуви Герберта Ливайн (Herbert Levine) в 1944 году, они открыли свою собственную обувную компанию. Герберт больше отвечал за коммерческую сторону бизнеса, а Бет была творческим двигателем, продумывая самые смелые, порой даже сумасшедшие модели. 

В 50-х она создала "невидимую" сандалию из изящных волнистых полос пластика. Еще одним ее смелым дизайном была модель с каблуком из лайковой кожи, который сильно напоминал катушку серебряных нитей. В 1958 году витрины ювелирного магазина Tiffany в Нью-Йорке украшали драгоценные камни и … туфли от Бет Ливайн, декорированные павлиньими перьями. 

Среди клиентов, которые регулярно заглядывали в её студию на Манхэттан, были такие «пионеры» моды как Халстон и Бэйб Пэйли (Babe Paley), Бетт Дэвис (Bette Davis) и Барбра Стрейзанд (Barbra Streisand).. Когда Лайзе Миннелли (Liza Minnelli) понадобилась пара нетрадиционных свадебных туфель, она приобрела пару расшитых блестками лодочек от Бет Ливайн. Именно о сапогах марки Ливайн пела Нэнси Синатра в своей песне "Эти сапоги сделаны для ходьбы" (“These boots are made for walking”). 

Бет Ливайн не имела никакого формального образования, но тем не менее сумела привлечь к сотрудничеству известных мастеров, которые вручную вырезали колодки и великолепно сочетали так любимые ею экзотические кожи. Она обладала удивительной способностью предсказывать тенденции, первой создала выложенные стразами лодочки, туфли-чулки и виниловые сапоги стрейч еще в начале 50-х, почти на целых десять лет раньше, чем весь остальной мир обратил на них внимание. 

Бет и Херберт Ливайн (Beth & Herbert Levine) постоянно экспериментировали с новыми материалами, ультразамшей, искусственной травой «астроторф», кожей лягушки и другими. Она создала обувь без верха, которая «прикреплялась» к ноге женщины специальными липучками. Ливайны даже сняли кинофильм, в котором женщина танцевала в таких туфлях без верха. Несмотря на то что их изобретение действительно работало, эти туфли так и не смогли завоевать доверие покупателей. 

В 1964 году, она изобрела аэродинамически смелую модель обуви по названием "Кабуки", которые создавали иллюзию полета, давая женщине ощущение ходьбы по воздуху. Открытость к стилю поп-арт привела Ливайнов к созданию туфель в виде спортивной машины или лампы Алладина. В дальнейшем Бет создала собственную марку - "Beth's Bootery", которая хотя и не была такой новаторской в дизайне, предназначалась для молодежи и смогла сохранить модность даже спустя 30 лет. 

В 1967 году Бет и Херберт Ливайн получили награду "Коти" (Coty Award) за создание сапог стрейч, а позднее они удостоились премии Нимана Маркуса (Neiman Marcus award) за вклад в развитие отрасли. Бет ушла из бизнеса в 1976 году, и хотя компании больше не существует, их обувь все еще оказывает значительное влияние на современный обувной дизайн, а многие модели стали предметами поиска коллекционеров.